Department of Political Science
Brief History of the department along with present focus in Academic and Research 




The Department of Political Science was established in October 1970. Since its inception, the department has made remarkable progress in teaching, research and extension work. In this, many teachers and department heads have worked to make the political science department more capable and developed in their own way. More and more knowledge has been imparted to the students of the department through various programs, national and international seminars, and workshops.
Right from its inception Department of Political Science has tried to get engage in teaching, research and various extension activities. It has been contributing in shaping the intellectual life of the students. Heads faculties of the department from its inception have contributed in this endeavor. The Department has organized many University level, State level, and National level and International level activities like workshops, seminars and other such activities. 

Professor N. D. Sakhrikar was the first head of the department when it was established. After that Professor KK Kavalekar took charge. At that time, students from outside the state were also coming here for education. Some Kannada speaking students were also studying here. From there, the development of the department gained momentum. Prof. Dr. Laxminarayan Tarodi, Prof. Dr. Ashok Chausalkar, Prof. Dar. Gopal Guru, Prof. Dr. Surendra Jondhale, Dr. Vasanti Rasam, Prof. Dr. Bharti Patil, Assistant Professor Pandurang Bhoye, Dr. Megh Nanivdekar, Prof. Dr. Bhagwan Mane, Prof. Dr. Prakash Pawar, and Dr. Ravindra Bhanage. 

All of them have worked for the development of the department and to make it a student-centric department. They have made necessary changes in the Department of Political Science to provide various facilities to the students and also organize educational tours in Delhi and Nagpur every year. This gives the students information about the activities going on during the parliamentary sessions. The department  also sends students to the Zilla Parishad, Panchayat Samiti, Gram Panchayat, Gram Sabha, Municipal Corporation and Nagarpalika to observe the functioning of the state. The participation of students in the work of election analysis is also noteworthy. In order to equip students with awareness about international peace and security Department also organizes Mock United Nations in which students of different Universities participate as delegates of different member countries of the United Nations. During the sessions students deliberate on UN resolution. 
Department has also organized Faculty Development Programme in order to provide opportunity to faculties to enhance  their capabilities and gain innovative sights in their profession.


Style Options


Color Scheme

Show Top Bar

Hide Show


Wide Boxed

Dark & Light

Light Dark

Default Layout