Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was established in October 1970. Since its inception, the department has made remarkable progress in teaching, research and extension work. In this, many teachers and department heads have worked to make the political science department more capable and developed in their own way. More and more knowledge has been imparted to the students of the department through various programs, national and international seminars, and workshops.

Professor N. D. Sakhrikar was the first head of the department when it was established. After that Professor KK Kavalekar took charge. At that time, students from outside the state were also coming here for education. Some Kannada speaking students were also studying here. From there, the development of the department gained momentum. Prof. Dr. Laxminarayan Tarodi, Prof. Dr. Ashok Chausalkar, Prof. Dar. Gopal Guru, Prof. Dr. Surendra Jondhale, Dr. Vasanti Rasam, Prof. Dr. Bharti Patil, Assistant Professor Pandurang Bhoye, Dr. Megh Nanivdekar, Prof. Dr. Bhagwan Mane, Prof. Dr. Prakash Pawar, and Dr. Ravindra Bhanage. 

All of them have worked for the development of the department and to make it a student-centric department. They have made necessary changes in the Department of Political Science to provide various facilities to the students and also organize educational tours in Delhi and Nagpur every year. This gives the students information about the activities going on during the parliamentary sessions. The department  also sends students to the Zilla Parishad, Panchayat Samiti, Gram Panchayat, Gram Sabha, Municipal Corporation and Nagarpalika to observe the functioning of the state. The participation of students in the work of election analysis is also noteworthy. 

 The Department of Political Science endeavors to generate new knowledge & produce students who are trained in Political Science.
The Department of Political Science strives to pursue academic excellence in teaching, research and extension.

To undertake teaching, research and extension programs in major branches of Political Science.
To impart training to the students in order to equip them in academic and professional capability & develop among them analytical perspective.
To encourage research in the socio-political issues and contribute to the discipline of Political Science.
To Undertake extension activities in order to create free, just and humane society.  

Core Values
Communicate the knowledge of Political Science
Develop new knowledge in the field through critical research and scholastic inquiry
Cultivate political values so as to boost democratic practice 
Apply the knowledge of Political Science to serve society as a whole



Style Options


Color Scheme

Show Top Bar

Hide Show


Wide Boxed

Dark & Light

Light Dark

Default Layout