Shivaji University

Shivaji University, established in 1962, is named after the Great Maratha Warrior and founder of the Maratha empire Chhatrapati Shivaji. It was inaugurated on 18th November, 1962 by Dr. Radhakrishnan, the then President of India. One of the major objectives behind foundation of this University was to cater to the regional needs of South Maharashtra. The jurisdiction of the University is spread over three districts viz. Kolhapur, Sangli and Satara with strength of about 3,00,000 students studying in 271 affiliated colleges and recognized institutes with 40 departments, along with traditional Graduate and Post Graduate courses. University has signed number of MoUs with various research institutions of national and international repute. University has started innovative courses like Nano Science & Technology, Social work and Rural Studies. This region of Maharashtra boasts of rich and varied socio-cultural heritage. The University's efforts towards excellence are being recognized by the substantial grants received from funding agencies like UGC, DST, DBT etc. The prestigious university has recently been accredited with A Grade by NAAC having CPGA 3.16